World Braille Foundation

World Braille Foundation


The World Braille Foundation is governed by a volunteer Board under the leadership of its President, Dr. Euclid Herie. World leaders in Braille literacy and expert financial and legal advisors donate their time and knowledge. The Foundation is priviledged to have attracted six distinguished and qualified men and women to serve as Honarary Governors. This extraordinary group of people, several of whom are blind, is ina unique position to advance the Foundation's objectives.

The Foundation has recruited a technical advisory group whose members are among the world's leading specialists in Braille literacy and technology. Their role is to advise the Boasrd on the best technical options and solutions available for community-based programs and Internet applications.

Project applications are evaluated by an external peer review process and require Board approval.


Euclid Herie - President

Dr. Euclid Herie, CM, President Emeritus CNIB. Following his retirement in from CNIB in 2002, Dr. Herie founded the World Braille Foundation. In 2009 Dr. Herie was inducted into the blindness hall of fame in Louisville Kentucky and was the recipient of the World Blind Union (WBU), Louis Braille medal presented in Coupvray, France. This medal is awarded once every four years. Dr. Herie served as an officer of the WBU for eighteen years including his role as the world President from 1996-2000. He was appointed an honorary life member in 2004.

F. Garrick Homer - Vice President

Mr. Garrick Homer is a retired lawyer having been admitted to the Law Society of Alberta in 1961. Following ten years in private practice with a predecessor of a now major national law firm, Mr. Homer commenced a 23-year career in the natural gas industry with Alberta and Southern Gas Company Ltd. ("A&S") and Alberta Natural Gas Company Ltd. where he served as Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary of both companies, and also as a director of A&S. A long standing volunteer with CNIB, Mr. Homer has served on both its division and National Board and was national Chairman from 1995 – 2002.

Donald Farrell, MD F.R.C.S., (C)

Dr. Farrell has a private practice in Ophthalmology in Saint John, NB. He has been an active volunteer for over 40 years, participating on several boards, including the Canadian Ophthalmological Society, Vision Health Research Council, E A Baker Secretariat, CNIB and the NB Capital Commission. He has served as chair for many organizations - medical, educational, recreational and cultural – and has been particularly involved with those organizations dedicated to prevention of blindness and to helping people who are blind. Dr. Farrell has received a number of distinguished awards and recognitions as a dedicated volunteer.

E (Ben) Hochhausen

Mr. Hochhausen is a Professional Engineer. He retired as President and CEO of Rice Engineering & Operating Ltd. and is presently President of Senock Ventures Ltd. Over many years he has served on a number of Boards and Foundation of charitable organizations including CNIB, Newman College, Telus World of Science, Boy Scouts of Canada and St. Joseph Seminary and has received many awards in recognition of his voluntary work.

William McKeown

William McKeown is a retired Vice-President of the CNIB.

Honorary TECHNICAL Advisors:

Dean Blazie
Ted Henter
Gilles Pepin
Graham Stoodley


Back to top